Unable to insert into an empty table on PG.

Using PGNP with MS SQL Server, Data Transformation Services (DTS), SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS), Linked Servers, Snapshot and Transactional Replication and more.

Unable to insert into an empty table on PG.

Postby jwrascoe » Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:42 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this product and have found that I am unable to insert into a empty PG table.. but if I just put 1 record in (via postgres) all works fine.

Here is my simple table... on PG

CREATE TABLE voices
(
voice_id serial NOT NULL,
name text NOT NULL,
CONSTRAINT voices_pkey PRIMARY KEY (voice_id ),
CONSTRAINT voices_name_key UNIQUE (name )
)

Then if I run this statement via SQL Server.. it fails only if the target table is empty.
insert into [devx05]...voices (name) values ('Inserted from SQL Server')

Msg 7399, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
The OLE DB provider "PGNP" for linked server "devx05" reported an error. Provider caused a server fault in an external process.
Msg 7343, Level 16, State 2, Line 1
The OLE DB provider "PGNP" for linked server "devx05" could not INSERT INTO table "[devx05]...[voices]". Unknown provider error.

I am running on the trial that I downloaded today...
Also.. I run SQL Server x64 linked to PostgreSQL 9.1.3 on amd64-portbld-freebsd8.3, compiled by cc (GCC) 4.2.2 20070831 prerelease [FreeBSD], 64-bit

Any idea why? Everything else seems to work fine.. but I will be testing more.

Thanks for your help.

Jim
jwrascoe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:31 am

Re: Unable to insert into an empty table on PG.

Postby jwrascoe » Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:23 pm

Update:

I downloaded in the archive section... and all works just fine!
PGNP-1.3.0.2256.exe 2554241 11815 Download
The latest release of PostgreSQL OLEDB Provider for 32 and 64-bit applications.

It must be due to the code thats in the trial download.

Think I am all set.

Jim
jwrascoe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:31 am

Re: Unable to insert into an empty table on PG.

Postby Moderator » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:06 pm

Just wanted to mention that setting "Allow inprocess" property to 1 resolves this and several other issues when working with linked servers.

Thank you!
User avatar
Moderator
Site Admin
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:27 pm


Return to SQL Server/DTS/SSIS/Linked servers/Replication

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron