linked server: certain tables giving problem: An extra colum

Using PGNP with MS SQL Server, Data Transformation Services (DTS), SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS), Linked Servers, Snapshot and Transactional Replication and more.

Re: linked server: certain tables giving problem: An extra colum

Postby bpoole » Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:59 am

I had opportunity to review and test the Refresh Metadata Cache.

IN running the command I receive the following error:

"ERROR: cannot execute NOTIFY during recovery"

The metadata does not refresh.
bpoole
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:45 am

Re: linked server: certain tables giving problem: An extra colum

Postby Moderator » Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:53 pm

Another way to recycle Provider's cache is to close application(s) that use the provider.
User avatar
Moderator
Site Admin
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:27 pm

Re: linked server: certain tables giving problem: An extra c

Postby gregg.erbaugh@sfsltd.com » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:08 pm

I'm getting this same/similar error: "ERROR: bind message has 7 result formats but query has 6 columns " whenever I reboot my server. I've tried executing the EXEC('pgnp_refreshmetadata('''',''remotetablename'')') AT REMOTESERVER ; on my SQL Server 2008 box, but it has no effect.

As inferred, I'm running Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 (SP1) - 10.50.2500.0 (X64), the PGOLEDB driver is a 64-bit, v1.3.0.2257 and the PostGres server is PostgreSQL 8.3.8 on x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu, compiled by GCC gcc (GCC) 4.3.2 20081105 (Red Hat 4.3.2-7).

Most of the time, the error would almost cure itself and we're not sure why. Whether it was running the queries manually through a query analyzer or dropping and re-adding the linked server or some other random act. Currently we're experiencing random failures where one time a query runs and it works, other times it runs and generates the aforementioned error.
gregg.erbaugh@sfsltd.com
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:12 pm

Re: linked server: certain tables giving problem: An extra c

Postby Moderator » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:03 am

Does this error happen after a table schema change? How often it happens?

Please send more details to support.

Thank you!
User avatar
Moderator
Site Admin
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:27 pm

Previous

Return to SQL Server/DTS/SSIS/Linked servers/Replication

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron